Posted by: Tess (Piyadassi) | April 17, 2011

Yes! Yes! Yes!

This morning I didn’t feel the “yes”. What I did feel were the effects of eating and imbibing a bit too much at a friend’s house last night. The past week of getting up at 4:30 a.m. to allow time for my morning routine and get to my new part-time job by 8 a.m. had caught up with me as well. I managed to ignore Jack, my cat, and his pitiful meows for food which began long before sunrise. I crawled out of bed at 6:30 a.m., fed and watered the beasts (a.k.a. Jack and Clause), then fell back into bed for another hour or so of fitful dozing.

When I finally rose to a vertical persuasion and planted my feet on the floor I realized I was dreading the day of packing I had set before myself. I’ll be moving in two weeks and knew the time had come to get a move on to the boxing of my plenitude of stuff. After brewing a dark cup of coffee, I headed to the bedroom again to officially start the day.

Part of my morning ritual involves a mindful cup of tea or coffee and a few contemplative readings before I settle onto my pillows for meditation. My selections include books, 365 Tao Daily Meditations by Deng Ming-Dao, Dhammapada Reflections by Ajahn Munindo, a poem from perhaps Mary Oliver, David Whyte, Hafiz or Rumi, and emails, Tricycle’s Daily Dharma and The Writer’s Almanac. The Writer’s Almanac is a gift to the world from National Public Radio (NPR) and Garrison Keillor, the creator of A Prairie Home Companion. It includes a poem and a “this-day-in-history” piece focusing on birthdays of writers, artists and notable events. And as a bonus if you don’t feel compelled to read the poem yourself, Garrison will read it to you. I like that in a man.

Today’s Writer’s Almanac contained a poem by Kaylin Haught called God Says Yes To Me. And it goes like this:

I asked God if it was okay to be melodramatic
and she said yes
I asked her if it was okay to be short
and she said it sure is
I asked her if I could wear nail polish
or not wear nail polish
and she said honey
she calls me that sometimes
she said you can do just exactly
what you want to
Thanks God I said
And is it even okay if I don’t paragraph
my letters
Sweetcakes God said
who knows where she picked that up
what I’m telling you is
Yes Yes Yes

As I read that final “yes” I felt the edges of my spirit start to curl up in a big grin of gratitude. It’s okay to feel not so great and it’s okay to feel fantastic. It’s about saying “yes” to it all and not hanging on to any of it. My morning wobble righted itself and the day proved to be full of satisfying phone calls with far away friends, good healthy food, a long hot bath and bountiful packing.

There’s another “yes” poem my friend Pamela wrote up and gave to me a couple of years ago. I keep it near my front door as a reminder before I step out into the day I will make.

I rarely let the word “No” escape
From my mouth
Because it is so plain to my soul
that God has shouted , “Yes! Yes! Yes!”
to every luminous movement in existence.
(Every Movement by Hafiz)

And God, if you’re reading this, I’m short, I’ve been known to be ever so infinitesimally melodramatic and my toenails are painted crisp apple red.

Yes! Yes! Yes!

(“God Says Yes To Me” by Kaylin Haught, from The Palm of Your Hand. © Tilbury House Publishers, 1995.)

Responses

  1. I just read your post to my mom who was feeling really down this past weekend and it lifted her spirits immensely. thanks babe.

  2. Ah, thanks Jules. I’m so glad to hear that. I think I’ll pull out that poem once in awhile myself to add a little oomph when I need.

  3. Thanks for writing about the wonderous lightness of being….xo

  4. […] in a new book by his Zen teacher asking us to say yes to everyone and everything that arises. Yes has had a big impact on me. It has become a dear confidante and teacher for me these past few years. Yes is what brought me to […]


Categories

