Posted by: Tess (Piyadassi) | November 13, 2011

And the prize is…

For those of you who are regular readers of this blog, you will know that recently I was the lucky winner on the Greetings from Coupeville blog. By happenstance and fortuitous timing I sent in my comment and was thereby entered in the contest to see who would be the 5,000th visitor to GFC’s site.

A short time later I got the news: I won! To provide full disclosure (we wouldn’t want this to become a WikiLeaks cauldron of duplicity and subterfuge), Michaelene, the author and host of GFC is a dear friend, but that had nothing to do with my winning. It was all on the up and up and I was as excited and gushing as Sally Field winning the academy award. At that moment I couldn’t deny the fact that someone up there liked me, really liked me.

Over the past week I been checking my mailbox with earnest anticipation (things take awhile to come up to the hat). A couple of days ago my prize arrived in the mail. With patience and presence I slowly opened the thickly padded envelope and inside I found:

Wow! It had everything: a food recommendation, vacation destination, tools (if you count the pincers) and a magnet to boot! What more could a girl ask for.

Crab Boy made quite an impression on Lady too. He’s no Tramp, but CB knocked her wheels off. I can sense love in the air. Or is that fish…

Thank you Greetings from Coupeville and dear M. My refrigerator just got a lot more sophisticated. A gift from lingerie is always appreciated.

Responses

  1. (Spoiler Alert: The following is a Dharma-free comment. Reacting to it may result in bad Karma. It certainly did for the author).

    Okay, I was a little miffed to have Canada referred to as simply a piece of head apparel to the United States. Whoo boy, don’t they feel special! We, the hewers of wood and drawers of water, them the big fancy, schmancy Americans wearing Canada on their head like a prize. The arrogance!

    Then I got to the end and saw that they are actually underwear.

    Hmmm. Elegant chapeau vs a pair of Stanfields. Guess we’re not so bad off after all. Yeah, that sounds about right. Ha-ha!

    Oops.

  2. “Or is that fish…”.

    Now there’s a line that will almost certainly come in handy in the future!

    Soon to be seen as “OITF” on Tweets everywhere.

  3. Yes, DJ, we are considered the hat south of the 49th Parallel, but think of all the hat provides. Warmth, protection from the bitter chill of not having enough domestic wood, style and, perhaps most importantly, the chosen accessory on bad hair and political fallout days.

  4. There was a bit of sarcasm in my last comment and not the high road of Right Speech. OITF.

  5. My apologies to all of Canada for referring to your wonderful country as “the hat.”

    • And our apologies to all of America for labeling it as our underwear (a more off-colour, albeit, necessary accessory, to be sure).

    • On behalf of the entire nation of Canada (The True North: strong, and free ®), I most humbly accept your all-encompassing, sweeping, unequivocal, indubitable, and comprehensive apology. Let us now put this entire ugly incident behind us, and head forward, arm in arm, in the spirit of friendship, good fashion, sensible hats (may I suggest the ever popular touque), comfy underwear (stanfields or jockeys, your choice), knickerbockers (I’ve always wanted to use that word in a sentence), and colour-coordinated outfits (or would that be “color-coordinated outfits”? … arrgh).

      OITF


Categories

